In English

Hey there english speaking readers, welcome to my eventing blog! The title ”Att försöka bli bra på fälttävlan” means something like ”trying to get good at eventing” or ”learning how to event properly”.

When I lived in the US for a year in my youth I sometimes came across people who were surprised to hear that we actually speak swedish in Sweden. (They thought that our official language was english. My fellow swedes and I take that as a compliment)! However, this means that I write this blog in my native language – swedish, sorry guys. 😉 I´m very happy to have some english speaking readers though! Here is some short info about this blog – in english! (To get something out of the rest of this blog I´m sorry to say you will have to use google translate. Which, by the way, will also give you a great laugh because of its hilarious translations. Look at it from the bright side!) 😀

About me: My name is Ida and I´m a 36 year old amateur event rider. I work as a film consultant, and in the evenings and weekends I try to learn how to ride. I have been learning that since the age of 10, but there is always more to learn (as you probably know)! I compete in showjumping, dressage and eventing a little now and then, I wouldn´t say I´m very competitive. But I like very much to get better at what I do, and for that competitions is very good I have noticed. 2014 was both mine and my horse´s first year as eventers. (Of course we were well prepared, for example we had competed in cross country shows before, but for a ”full event” competiton this was the first season). We compete at 90-level (beginner-novice I think it´s called in GBR/US). In showjumping we compete at 1,00-1,10 meters, and dressage on a bit higher level than the jumping, swedish LA level. (I think its like novice/intermediate?). In 2015 we actually entered our first Working Equitation competition, and won! So now we have two equestrian sports with three phases each to combine! Great! 🙂

I live in the countryside in the southern part of Sweden, in a small village called Åryd right outside of Växjö. This beautiful county is called Småland. The only bad thing really about this area is the lack of cross contry courses. I always have at least an hour and a half to drive (more likely three hours…). But that´s ok, since it´s like the ice age here half a year I get to rest and practise at home in the winter, and then we´re out on the roads again for the summer! 🙂

About my horse:  Tell is a 14 year old Swedish Warmblood. He really has good eventing blood, even though he never tried eventing himself before I bought him in 2010 (and me neither, except from when I was a kid). His mother Tosca competed in advanced/expert eventing (international level), and his father Landlord is a famous showjumping stallion. (For example Rodrigo Pessoa´s horse Lianos who he won a gold medal at the World Equestrian Games with once, is also a Landlord offspring).

Tell is a tricky little fellow with a great spirit. He loves to jump and to go fast in the woods. (At least as long as we don´t meet any mooses!! He is scared to death by them). He has a lot of energy and is quite sensitive, though he is a very gentle guy and always curious! He is not very self confident, so we are working on that. Especially on the cross country course you have to be able to be all alone out there, and preferably not trying to surprise the rider with an unexpected change of direction… 😉 On the bright side – he is a great jumper, very careful, and he really loves eventing once he is convinced that he will survive out there without his buddies, and really relies on me! We are having SO much fun together, and I love him to death. ❤

IMG_3056
Treats? Give me treats please! I won, goddamnit!

 

IMG_0845

Skärmavbild 2014-07-24 kl. 00.25.43

Skärmavbild 2014-07-29 kl. 11.56.31